About Us: The Gulf Coast Group

sierra club, mississippi, gulf coast

The Gulf Coast Group is confronted with multiple environmental challenges. While each of us enjoys the natural wonders of the Gulf and the estuaries in our own way—whether in a kayak or behind a camera—we are focused on several ongoing issues:

The BP disaster: Through the Natural Resources Damage Assessment (NRDA, established by the Oil Pollution Act of ’90) and the RESTORE Act (diverting 80% of Clean Water Act fines to coastal ecological and economic restoration), BP fines and penalties will be funding activity in all five states that border the Gulf of Mexico. The Sierra Club is active in making sure Mississippi’s money goes to restore the ecosystems affected.

Kemper Coal Plant: Mississippi Power and its parent, the Southern Company, are building a coal gasification plant in Kemper County that will be paid for by customers of Mississippi Power—ratepayers who live in 23 counties in the Southern part of the state. The process is unproven, the strip mine to feed it will destroy 48 square miles, and the plant is already 30% above the original budget. For background: http://www.biggerpieforum.org/blog/kemper

Drilling for Oil & Gas in the Mississippi Sound: http://12milessouthcoalition.com/

Tar Sands pipeline from Mobile railroad to Pascagoula Chevron refinery: https://www.facebook.com/MobileALTarsandsAwareness

Info About The Gulf Coast Group
We meet on the last Wednesday of each month at 6:30pm at Harmony Hall in Gulfport. A potluck supper (starting at 6:30) is followed by an environmental discussion (starting at 7:00 p.m.). Directions: From Hwy 90 go East on Pass Road. Then turn North on 19th Ave. Harmony Hall is located on the right hand side of the road. Parking is on the left. The address is: 2514 19th Ave., Gulfport MS 39501.

To contact the Gulf Coast Group: Call 228-872-0508. Or go to our FACEBOOK page for Gulf Coast news and activities.

Gulf Coast Group Executive Committee
Steve Shepard, Group Chair/President 228-872-0508
Louis Skrmetta, Delegate to Chapter Ex-Com
Howard Page
Carroll Campbell
Shirley Phipps
Non Executive Committee Treasurer: Julia O'Neal